cleaning eggs before incubating?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by pardenx3, Jan 25, 2010.

1. pardenx3

pardenx3 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 24, 2010
    Talladega, Alabama
    After all the rain we have had here in Alabama, the eggs are really dirty when we get them out of the nesting boxes. The ones I put in the fridge to eat I clean them at the kitchen sink, under plain water. But my question is, for the ones we want to incubate is it OK to clean them with warm water before putting into the incubator?

2. Ms.FuzzyButts

Ms.FuzzyButts Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 5, 2009
    North Alabama
    [​IMG] Neighbor!!
    I am no expert but, I have washed my really dirty ones gently with luke warm water and not had any adverse effects.

3. pardenx3

pardenx3 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 24, 2010
    Talladega, Alabama
    Thanks neighbor! I went ahead and washed them in plain water, and the water was as warm or warmer than the egg.

4. duck&chickencrazy

duck&chickencrazy Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 2, 2008
    Indiana
    you really shouldnt wash them...at least from what i have been told...you shouldnt wash them because the eggs have a coating on the outside of the egg that helps keep the bacteria out, and if you wash the egg its more likely to die off due to bacteria....hmm might be wrong but i asked a similar question like yours and got the answer im given you....i dont think it hurts to much tho...

5. Lensters

Lensters Chillin' With My Peeps

May 14, 2009
    Adair Village, OR