Cleaning eggs

Cold Canadian

Crowing
13 Years
Jun 19, 2010
Manitoba Canada
New here so I'm hoping this is the right place to ask this ? Does anyone ever wash / clean there eggs before setting them in the incubator ? I've heard that some people do and others warn against it ? Curious if the large hatchery's do as well to contain diseases ? Just asking because I bought some hatching eggs locally and they were a bit dirty , and although the candled well , the hatch was a bit short from what I had thought my hatch would be .I'm assuming that this might have played a part ?.

I'm no expert & this is only my first incubation (lock down tomorrow) but I never cleaned my eggs. A few of them I used a barely damp paper towel to get off a huge chunk of poo but other then that, I hear there is too much vitamin of some kind (???) in the shell & you could wash it away. Again .. no expert but I don't think it plays a role in hatching. Temperature, travel & humidity ... now those do.

Personally, I hatch between four and five hundred chicks a season. You will find those that clean eggs and those that don't. As long as you wash them in water that is warmer than the eggs everything will be fine. A good friend of mine uses an iodine solution in his wash.

If you ever have an egg explode on you in the incubator you'll start washing eggs too; that I can promise.

Last edited:
Quote:
Saladin ... What happens between a wash & un-wash when an egg explodes?
hide.gif

Julie,
Never had a washed egg explode.

An un-washed egg that is dirty (particularly with chicken crap) may explode in the incubator: dirty, nasty and the stench is something else!