Cleaning my Coop [???]

equinehugger3

Crowing
12 Years
Apr 14, 2010
I incubated eggs for the first time, and they hatched about 3 months ago. We bought a coop not long ago, and I spray painted it. [LOOONG before the chicks were put in it for the first time] Now it's getting kinda messy. There's not anything on the walls, but the bottom is getting a little soiled with droppings. [Remember, this is my first time with chickens] I wasn't sure If i should rake the bottom or what. I mean, the problem with raking is that I have chicken wire on the bottom to keep out predators, so I wouldn't be able to rake. Should I just put some dirt over the chicken wire so I could rake, or what? Again, this is my first time, so I probably seem like an idiot for not knowing this.
tongue.png

Thanks!
jumpy.gif
Pip
jumpy.gif
Peep
jumpy.gif
Yanna

54265_picture_371.jpg
-My coop from a weird angle. I woulda got it from right in front but there's a tree in the way of where I'd have to stand.
54265_picture_372.jpg
-That's the inside of my coop. All the droppings and stuff are on the bottom.
54265_picture_373.jpg
-Those are my three little chickies in the outside part of their coop. It looks kinda small, but I let them out a LOT.
D.gif
D.gif
D.gif

Looks to me like you could just let the birds out first, then drag that little coop onto a fresh piece of ground.

I highly recommend pine shavings, and using the deep litter method. You only clean out the coop twice a year. In between, you just rake out the big stuff now and then, and the chickens stir up the litter/shavings just by scratching in it. Just add more shavings every once in while. You start with about four inches of shavings. By the time you do your semi-annual clean out, there's probably six inches of little. And it doesn't stink. Especially if you toss in some food grade DE (diatomaceous earth) every now and then.