cleaning? new to this

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by greenfingers89, Mar 23, 2013.

1. greenfingers89

greenfingers89 New Egg

Mar 19, 2013
    ilkeston, derbyshire
    Hi people i am new to this and am a little worried about a couple of mu chickens they have rather dirty bottoms and unsure what exactly i should do? Could i put a bath type thing my run for them to bathe or do i need to do it.. i havent handled them yet as only had them for a week and they are still a bit weary of me thanks

2. Chicks Galore3

Chicks Galore3 Artistic Bird Nut

Dec 16, 2011
    Iowa
    Are they still chicks? This good be pasty butt- if it is, hold a moist warm paper towel on its rear and wipe. If you have plastic waterers, put a little bit of apple cider vinegar in the water. (about a tablespoon to a gallon). This helps prevent/treat it. Happy chickening!
    CG3

3. cafarmgirl

cafarmgirl Overrun With Chickens

No, they won't bathe themselves in water like other birds do. You can either wash their bottoms with warm water and blow dry them or you can clip off the dirty feathers. Next step would be to try to determine why they have dirty backsides. They may have internal parasites and need to be wormed. Check them over carefully for lice/mites as well.

4. greenfingers89

greenfingers89 New Egg

Mar 19, 2013
    ilkeston, derbyshire
    How exactly would you check for lice/mites as at the mintue i havent been able to handle them? What are the signs

5. cafarmgirl

cafarmgirl Overrun With Chickens

I go out at night with a small flash light and check them over when they are on the roost. Mine get ticked off when I handle them too so this way is easier. I check all over their bodies, down to the skin for any mites crawling around or any lice or lice eggs attached to the base of the feathers.

6. aggiemae

aggiemae Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 18, 2012
    Salem Oregon