Cleaning under roost

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by nelson329, Apr 23, 2009.

1. nelson329

nelson329 New Egg

Apr 22, 2009
    I am new to backyard chickens and am currently building a coop for my chicks coming in June. What do I need to do about the roost? I have come across people saying something about the droppings under the roost. If I am going to use the deep litter method can I just mix all those droppings into the wood shavings or do I need to clean them out?

2. Big George

Big George Out Of The Brooder

Apr 19, 2009
    With wood shavings my chickens keep it stirred. I cleaned it once month or so in the winter. More often int he summer. Trust me you'll know when its past time. "Some times my back yard gets that not so fresh smell".

3. chickenfever

chickenfever Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 22, 2008
    Arizona
    Some people use droppings boards under the roosts. This is something that will catch the droppings while they roost and you can clean the boards more often to keep the coop clean. Personally I just use the deep litter method w/ wood shavings too, and the chickens keep them mixed in as long as I keep enough shavings in the coop.

4. Lesa

Lesa Chillin' With My Peeps

May 28, 2008
    Upstate NY