Close up for the night?

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by Heckel's Hens, Jan 28, 2011.

1. Heckel's Hens

Heckel's Hens Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 23, 2011
    Southern VA
    Being a newbie, I am out of my mind with worry about when the chicks go to the outdoor coop. So far my understanding is to use hardware cloth, 12 inches or more dug into the ground, and cover the coop, too, for hawks.

Are you supposed to put the chickens in for the night? If you do that....and "lock it up", so to speak, is there still risk of predators?

How common is it to nightly round up your chickens and put them inside? Is that unrealistic?

Thanks for any and all advice!!

2. slightlyscrambled

slightlyscrambled Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 30, 2009
    Nebraska
    Generally after a few days of rounding them up and putting them in the coop they will get the idea and do it themselves. Then all you have to do is shut up the coop. Good luck!

3. Stonerowfarm

Stonerowfarm Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 16, 2008
    Cheshire, MA
    It sounds like you are describing an outdoor run. Do you have a coop? If so, the birds will put themselves to bed once it starts getting dusk. They don't see at night so they usually will settle in pretty quickly. You need to make sure that your coop is secure top, bottom and sides and that nothing can get into it. Raccoons are very smart and have the dexterity of a two year old. Weasels are small and can fit through a tiny opening. Possums are slow but opportunistic. And the list goes on and on......

4. Heckel's Hens

Heckel's Hens Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 23, 2011
    Southern VA
    This is incredibly naive....but....they attack INSIDE the coop??

Please tell me no. [​IMG]

5. redhen

redhen Kiss My Grits... Premium Member

May 19, 2008
    Western MA
    After a few days the birds will go inside the coop by themselves... then all you have to do is lock them up for the night.