Closet Conversion?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Zollydog, May 24, 2008.

1. Zollydog

Zollydog Out Of The Brooder

May 24, 2008
    Athens, GA
    Hi, guys -- I'm a newbie here, and have 14 4 week-olds that need to move out to their new digs. I plan to turn them into two free-range herds, one of which I'd like to see going into an ark (my carpenter friend and I are debating the format right now) and the other portion into a closet that I want to convert into a coop. I think this will work logistically, but I don't see anyone else doing it. So, is there any reason that it won't work? Has anyone else done it?

2. Chirpy

Chirpy Balderdash

May 24, 2007
    Colorado
    I would need to see a picture of the closet or have a better description to help you on that one. People make lots of unique things into great coops so it probably will work, I just don't know what exactly you have in mind.

If you are planning on having two free ranging flocks you may want to tell that to the chickens! If they are out free ranging at the same time they will most probably 'become' one flock and stay together. If, however, you plan to let them out at different times then no worries.

3. Dawn419

Dawn419 Lost in the Woods

Apr 16, 2007
    Evening Shade, AR
    Hello and Welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

As Chirpy said, a pic of the closet would be a big help.

Also, check out the Coop Design section. There are alot of great ideas there.

Hope this helps!

Dawn

4. Zollydog

May 24, 2008
    Athens, GA
    It's a pretty ordinary closet -- roughly 4X4, in the garage area of my barn. My plan is to put an egress door outside at roughly 5' high, put three nesting boxes opposite at 18" in height (recessed in the wall), and alternate roosts around the rest of the interior. I'll construct a hardware cloth run for the short-term, so the little guys can go out without being predator bait. And then later I'll retire the run.

5. Chirpy

Chirpy Balderdash