Clucky chickens

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by australop girl, Jan 25, 2017.

1. australop girl

australop girl New Egg

Jan 25, 2017
    Eungella. Nsw.
    Hi there everyone,my name is Dianne. I am new to this if I have a rooster locked away in another pen will my hens still go clucky or is it just normal they do with or without the rooster. Can I stop them from going clucky ?
    Is it okay to use garden lime in and around the chicken pen ?

2. ChickenChaser9

ChickenChaser9 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 3, 2016
  3. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi and welcome to BYC - thanks for joining us. Assuming you mean a hen going broody - then they will do so with or without the presence of a rooster. You can break their broodiness (type broody buster in the search box). This search should help answer your question re: lime - https://www.backyardchickens.com/newsearch?search=garden+lime+toxicity

More generally, you'll find lots of info in the Learning Centre - https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center and if you have a specific topic in mind, just type it in the search box - there's a wealth of information on past and present threads.

You may wish to consider joining your country thread as it will put you in touch with other BYC members in your area - https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/598568/australia-six-states-and-that-funny-little-island

All the best
    CT

4. Teila

Teila Bambrook Bantams Premium Member

Howdy neighbour [​IMG] Welcome and Happy Australia Day!

I understand clucky [​IMG] And, yep, Ken is right, if a hen is prone to broodiness [clucky] she will go broody with or without a rooster. I only have hens and being Pekins [bantam Cochins] they are broody more often than not in Spring/Summer.

Also, as Ken suggested, please do pop in to the Aussie Thread and say G’Day, you will be welcome.