Coccidiosis not sure if my chickens have it?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by RedSky1, May 8, 2016.

1. RedSky1

RedSky1 Out Of The Brooder

It was sugested I post here. I had noticed loose stools but a little too late. Im very new to having chickens. I got 12 begining of March. They are cobbs. White meat chickens. Everything was great until Thursday so I thought. I started seeing lethargic chickens. They didnt want to eat. They started looking un kept. Wouldn't really respond at all like before. Running across yard to greet me & follow me anywhere I went. Then a dead chickenthat evening. No evident signs as to exactly why either.
    Next day there was bloody stools and another hen dead.
    I spent the day at Tractor supply and researching symtoms. I picked up B-12 for them.
    The Saturday morning a rooster was acting very sick. Hes boyfriends favorite. I called local feed store. Lady there said sounds like worms. I pickd up Wazine and gave it to them. I had been gone that afternoon. I knew Hammer one of the sick roosters probably wouldn't make it. To my surprise he looked better but I lost one of the other roosters, Left Wing.
    This moring I was greeted by Roofus the biggest rooster with his hearty new found voice of a cock a doodle doo. All eight remaining chickens looked in good health today and very hungry. They seemed very responsive as well.
    I was so worried I would have to put them all down. I can't see them all dieing like that. I have a new found hope.

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    It sounds like the ones that died had coccidiosis. I would get Corid (amprollium, Ampromed) from a feed store and treat the rest. Dosage is 1 1/2 tsp of Corid powder to a gallon of water, and treat for 5 days. Afterward, give some poultry vitamins in the water for a few days, and a bit of plain yogurt for probiotics. Here are 2 good articles to read: