Coccidiosis Questions - egg safety, feces composting

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by starlogva, Jun 28, 2011.

1. starlogva

starlogva Out Of The Brooder

Jun 28, 2011
    Hi Everyone. I love this site and use it frequently as a reference. Thanks to everyone who posts.

I'm pretty new to chickens - got my first ones May 2010. I've had no issues except one Australorpe with recurring sour crop who, unfortunately died despite medication. Two days ago I installed nice, white poop boards and was rewarded with bloody poop! I'd given them watermelon and thought it was that, but this morning there was no doubt. One of my 1-yr old EEs was still on the roost, hunched, tail down, lethargic, comb pale and shrunken, and watery, bloody feces under her.

I immediately brought her inside and started frantically searching the internet. She appears to have coccidiosis and I just happened to have Sulmet. She wouldn't eat or drink so I used a crop tube to place about 10ml of medicated water into her. An hour later, she passed the liquid, stayed standing, and ate a little whole wheat bread covered with plain yogurt. Within the next hour she started talking to me, eating pellets, and drinking medicated water. Shortly thereafter, her tail popped back up. Her comb is still pallid.

I've already replaced the drinking water with medicated water for the remaining chickens. I saw a few other bloody spots on the boards of both the 1-yr olds and the 3-mo olds so I'm sure they're also affected.

My questions are:

1. How long should I keep the sickest girl isolated? Since the others are already exposed, should I just wait until she looks strong enough?

2. Did I catch this early enough to likely prevent any deaths?

3. I've never wormed so I'm considering doing that during the withdrawal period for the Sulmet. Should I do it now or wait until I finish the 6-day course of Sulmet (or longer)?