Coccidiosis???

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by JesNflock, Oct 17, 2013.

1. JesNflock

JesNflock Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 11, 2013
    NE Florida,US
    I just picked up 4 4 & 5 week old chicks yesterday and they are all acting ok, but this morning my little easter egger had a couple of bloody looking droppings. I think it is quite possibly coccidiosis but as I am new to raising chickens I'm not sure and could use any input I can get. She is the only one with these droppings.
    [​IMG]
    Thanks!

2. casportpony

casportpony Team Tube Feeding Captain & Poop Inspector General Premium Member

Jun 24, 2012
    My Coop
    I would start them on Corid or Amprol ASAP!

The severe outbreak dose (.024%) for Corid Powder is 1.5 teaspoons per gallon.
    The severe outbreak dose (.024%) for Corid liquid is 2 teaspoon per gallon.

The moderate outbreak dose (.012%) for Corid Powder is 3/4 teaspoon per gallon.
    The moderate outbreak dose (.012%) for Corid liquid is 1 teaspoon per gallon.

The 006% dose for Corid Powder is 1/3 teaspoon per gallon.
    The 006% dose for Corid liquid is 1/2 teaspoon per gallon.

FDA recommendations:
    http://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/animaldrugsatfda/details.cfm?dn=013-149
    "Chickens
    Indications: For the treatment of coccidiosis.
    Amount: Administer at the 0.012 percent level in drinking water as soon as coccidiosis is diagnosed and continue for 3 to 5 days (in severe outbreaks, give amprolium at the 0.024 percent level); continue with 0.006 percent amprolium-medicated water for an additional 1 to 2 weeks."

And this link has these instructions:
    http://www.drugs.com/vet/amprol-9-6-solution-can.html