1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Cochin hen sneezing

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by korlia, Oct 21, 2013.

1. korlia

korlia Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 11, 2013
    South Africa
    Hi guys

I am really quite new to this and have read a lot of the threads on sneezing hens. I would however just like confirmation from you? We recently got 3 cochin hens. I noticed about 2 days ago that the one is sneezing. It doesn't seem to affect the others ones at all.

She'll give two or three sneezes in a row. It doesnt seem to have anything to do with feeding of watering. She sneezes even if she is not eating or drinking? Other than that she seems fine? She is not lethargic, moves around, grazes and eats and drinks. Breathing also sounds normal and I can't see any discharge from the eyes or nose? Should I be concerned or just keep an eye on her?

ANY advice will be highly appreciated

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
  3. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    My chickens sneeze occaisonally, so it may not be anything to worry about. Sneezing is sometimes caused by eating dusty feed, or being in a place with high ammonia and dust. If it gets worse, it could be a mild respiratory disease.

4. schnebbles

schnebbles Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 6, 2013
    Indian Lake, Ohio
    Keep an eye on weight. I had one (bantam cochin) sneezing and I thought she was doing better until one day I picked her up and she was skin and bones. They are so fluffy, just make sure to feel them as well as look.

5. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    x2

6. korlia

Sep 11, 2013
    South Africa