COCHIN ROOSTER DOESN'T ROOST..ANYONE ELSE WITH THIS..

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by chickenchickenbulkbulk, Nov 24, 2008.

1. chickenchickenbulkbulk

chickenchickenbulkbulk Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 9, 2008
    OHIO
    ISSUE? I EVEN PUT IN A LOWER ROOST..I SAT HIM ON IT AND ABOUT 30 SECONDS LATER...HE FELL OFF. THE LOWEST ONE IS A FOOT OFF OF THE COOP FLOOR. HE IS A BIG ROO!! ANY SUGGESTIONS? [​IMG]

2. TaLani

TaLani ~ Gemini Chick ~

Oct 2, 2008
    Bryson City, NC
    How old is your cochin roo? It took soooo long for several of our breeds to get the idea that they were supposed to use the roosting rods. Are your roosting rods made out of dowel rods or 2x4's? Maybe he just needs more "instruction" like you were doing in trying to teach him what to do. Then again, I'm no expert (only had our chickens since beginning of June), so maybe someone else has better ideas than I do. [​IMG]

3. Guitartists

Guitartists Resistance is futile

Mar 21, 2008
    Michigan
    My Bantam Cochin has NEVER been off the ground.... when everyone else goes to roost, he digs out a little spot by the door and settles in for the night.

4. chickenchickenbulkbulk

Jul 9, 2008
    OHIO
    Quote:That is what he will do. He's 7-8 months old. He sits right by the door..I am afraid a coon is going to get him through the chicken wire. He is the biggest rooster I have ever seen. He feels like he weighs a good 20 lbs. I thought maybe he was just to big to get on the roost. He can barely run with all of the feathers on his legs. Have you tried to put yours on the roost? DJ

5. Guitartists

Mar 21, 2008
    Michigan
    Nope...... I have roosts as low to the ground as 8 inches (where my Silkies roost) and he has no interest. Now, my Bantam Cochin hens DO roost, and up top with the big chickens...... so I don't know if it is a breed, feather, sex or personalty thing... or some combo of them, but he's content, usually even one of the first to settle in at night.