1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

cochins laying?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by robbinsroost, Sep 7, 2009.

1. robbinsroost

robbinsroost Out Of The Brooder

Sep 3, 2009
    Mooresville
    [​IMG] Hi! I have golden comets, australorps, ee's all which have starting laying. I have 2 black cochins same age as the rest, who have shown no interest in laying or for that matter letting my roo come near them. Is this normal for cochins. I am a newbie so not sure. I have been looking on this site and just under cochins and can't seem to find any info. Thanks for any help.[​IMG]

2. Princess Amri

Princess Amri Is Mostly Harmless

Jul 16, 2009
    best coast
    Cochins don't lay as well as other breeds so don't worry if it takes a while! They're so gorgeous they don't need to lay so much to keep their people happy! They'll start laying before you know it.

3. robbinsroost

Sep 3, 2009
    Mooresville
    [​IMG] I think they are absolutely beautiful, and really would like to get more especially with color, mine are black and soooooooooo soft! Thanks so much, I was starting to worry about them.

4. blackjack1

blackjack1 Out Of The Brooder

Feb 22, 2009
    NW Iowa
    robbinsroost,
    Do you have standard or bantam Cochins?
    We have both and really like them. They are not the quickest to lay or the best layers but they are very nice birds. Right now I'm havin egg problems right now too and some of my chickens are around a year old.
    Here is some of my daughters show birds.
    [​IMG]

5. dixiechick

dixiechick Chillin' With My Peeps

^ Those are some nice looking birds!! [​IMG]

6. lindabean

lindabean Chillin' With My Peeps

May 3, 2009
    Texas Hill Country