cockerel already starting to feel his oats!...questions

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by showjumper_girl2002, Aug 27, 2013.

1. showjumper_girl2002

showjumper_girl2002 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 20, 2011
    Florida
    good morning fellow chicken keepers! i'm in need of some help. my young cockerel jack, who by the way is only 3 1/2 months old, is already starting to test me! he's always been a sweet heart and still doesn't mind being pet and is as content as can be to be picked up and carried around [​IMG] however, he's starting to show small signs of aggression. he does this funny little shuffle towards me with his wings dropped which i'm assuming is some kind of sign that he's testing me. this small flock that I have are my first so i'm new to roo talk lol. he has also graduated to pecking me, and not in a nice way [​IMG] I knew the day was going to come when his hormones would kick in and he would start to test me so my question is, is there anything I can do to nip this in the butt so he stays pet quality? I've read a lot about people keeping pet roos without problems. I want to keep him so he can keep an eye on my girls for me when i'm not around and because he's always been sweet and smart and is special to me lol but I don't want to have to watch my back and worry about him every time I go in my backyard and want to hang out with my girls! I know that you're not supposed to show signs of aggression back and I also read that picking them up and carrying them around a bit is supposed to help. well I've tried the carrying around bit and it doesn't seem to be having any affect [​IMG] so I would love any and all suggestions to help me with my hormonal cockerel! lol

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey