Cockerel behavior help: aggressive male picking on another male

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Bawkbagawk, Mar 1, 2012.

1. Bawkbagawk

Bawkbagawk New Egg

Mar 1, 2012
    Gilbert, AZ
    Hello! I'm new to owning back yard chickens, and I have a question regarding male behavior in my first flock. We have 20 chickens (18 female, 2 male: Orpingtons and Wyandottes). They are about 5 mos old so they are sexually maturing and their hormones are in full swing. I have noticed that one of the cockerels is definitely king of the castle, and while neither of the boys shows aggression towards me, the dominant one is picking on the other male quite a lot. It began last week when I noticed all of the other cockerel's tail feathers had been plucked. There are no bloody spots (no damage to his skin or tissue), just his long feathers were gone. Over the past few days, I've seen the two really go at it. At first, the weaker of the two would stick up for himself somewhat, but now it usually involves the dominant cockerel chasing the other around the run until the other runs inside the attached coop to hide. When I opened the ramp this morning for them to come out into the run, the bullied cockerel didn't even want to come out. He is very fearful of the dominant male to the point of running in panic at the sight of him. He has been acting submissive and withdrawn as of today which is not the norm. I'm worried the constant bullying is taking its toll on him. Each chicken has 14' sq-ft of space and I read that a good ratio is 10:1 for female to male. I'm not sure what to do to help the other cockerel not get picked on. Or maybe that's nature and there's really nothing I can do... I really could use your advice! Thank you!

2. scratch'n'peck

scratch'n'peck Overrun With Chickens

Oct 31, 2008
    West Michigan
    My Coop