Cockerel Breeding

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Optimus16195, Feb 21, 2019.

1. Optimus16195

Optimus16195 In the Brooder

Jan 20, 2019
    Hi Friends,
    Last Month, I posted a question thread on identifying Pullet or Cockerel on Leghorn Chicks.
    1) Now Can I Breed my 21 weeks old two Leghorn Chicks with other Variety Pullets?
    Earlier I had bought Cockerel Chicks as Dyed ( Colored) 1 week old Chicks from shop in India.
    2)What is the Lifetime of Dyed (Colored) Leghorn Chicks?
    They Started to crow from 17 weeks and their Main Diet is Cooked White Rice!!!!! :hmm:hmm:hmm:hmm
    3)Suggestions for selecting country side Pullet in India?
    What Pullets are suitable for Egglaying(with/without breeding) in India?
    When to expect Egglaying?

P.S: I am new to this,so please guide me.

ButtonquailGirl14 likes this.
  2. ButtonquailGirl14

ButtonquailGirl14 Crossing the Road

Jul 13, 2017
    Northport WA
    Are you asking for a good breed, or gender? Do you mean they put dye (like hair dye on it)

3. Optimus16195

Optimus16195 In the Brooder

Jan 20, 2019
    Color Dye in india

4. ButtonquailGirl14

ButtonquailGirl14 Crossing the Road

Jul 13, 2017
    Northport WA
    ok, do you have pictures? I would love to help, but I'm not sure I understand the question. (that also could be because I'm tired)

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 21, 2019
  5. aart

aart Chicken Juggler!

Nov 27, 2012
    SW Michigan
    My Coop
    Not sure if the dying of chicks poses a threat the their longevity.
    It's considered 'cruel' here in the USA and I believe is illegal to dye chicks.

For most breeds onset of lay is 18-28 weeks.

Leghorns should be pretty good layers, have no idea where you'd get pullets in India.

ButtonquailGirl14 and sourland like this.
  6. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Free Ranging

Feb 2, 2009
    Southeast Louisiana
    1) Now Can I Breed my 21 weeks old two Leghorn Chicks with other Variety Pullets?