Cockerel overly aggressive when mating.

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by K813ZRA, Jul 6, 2016.

1. K813ZRA

K813ZRA Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 29, 2016
    Pennsylvania
    So I have two flocks at home and one is starting to mature as the hens have started laying eggs and the Cockerels are attempting to mount the hens. Well, I have one that not only mounts the hens but the other cockerels. He does not seem to have the hang of it yet as some times he gets the head or mounts sideways or what have you. Anyway, that is not what I am worried about. This is my first time with roosters so I am not sure if the following is normal or not but it does not seem to be. When attempting to mount his hen he will grab her by the neck or the tail and remove feathers. He will continue to do this while trying to mate. He seems to be overly aggressive with the hens in this sense. I have three other cockerels so a few are going to the dinner table soon. As the others do not act like this I am guessing he is a likely candidate for crock pot.

Anyway, is this sort of behavior normal for a juvenile rooster or is it too aggressive?

Thank you.

2. Folly's place

Folly's place Chicken Obsessed

Sep 13, 2011
    southern Michigan
    It's not unusual for a juvenile, but still, a nicer boy might be a better bird to keep. Mary

3. K813ZRA

Mar 29, 2016
    Pennsylvania
    Thank you or the response. I was kind of thinking along those lines. I have one that is very protective of the hens but not abusive and it is friendly with my wife and I. For example if I pick up a hen he gets a little unhappy, he does not attack but you can tell he is upset. However later he will still take some kale from my hand.