Cockerel trouble.

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by LindseyHouser86, Apr 7, 2017.

1. LindseyHouser86

LindseyHouser86 New Egg

Apr 2, 2017
    Pennsylvania
    This is my first time owning chickens, I mistakenly bought straight run silkies. I ended up with two cockerels which I don't mind because they are both very loving birds. My two male silkies are starting to fight and they are not even fully feathered yet. Do they need to be separated? Or will they just work this out on their own. They are not injuring each other but it scares the other birds.

2. peaceisgreen

peaceisgreen Out Of The Brooder

Mar 23, 2017
    michigan
    sounds like teenage angst to me how many hens do you have?

3. PirocaKeeper

PirocaKeeper Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 21, 2014
    Western Massachussetts
    As sadly as it is, you need to carefully let them duke it out, there is a pecking order in the chicken world and only one can be at the top. Sorry to say, I have 6 weeks old chicks are have a few males and they are going through the same thing. The key is not to let many gang up on one, but in your case you only have 2, so one of them will be #1 and the other one will be #2 in rank, although they will test those ranks every now and then and the order can change a couple of times. Good luck!

4. peaceisgreen

peaceisgreen Out Of The Brooder

Mar 23, 2017
    michigan
    ^^well stated

5. LindseyHouser86

LindseyHouser86 New Egg

Apr 2, 2017
    Pennsylvania
    I only have 2 cockerels and 2 hen silkies, in the same brooder as 15 other hens (mixed breeds) They are all young and do not adult feathers yet. I'm not to worried because they are not hurting each other but at the same time was worried

6. Sneebsey

Sneebsey Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 7, 2017
    Shropshire, UK