Cold Country Coop Size?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by cabincrazyone, Jan 6, 2011.

1. cabincrazyone

cabincrazyone Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 26, 2010
    NE Minnesota
    Hi, I'm a newbie from NE Minnesota. I've been reading this great forum a LOT and have piled up a lot of info for planning my coop, run, how to care for chickens, everything I can find out about.

At the risk of beating a dead horse, I'd like to hear more advice on coop size for areas where chickens might need to stay in the coop during a two week long, 20 below cold snap, or a snow storm and two feet of snow in the run.

My city code requires "a floor area or combination of the floor and fenced in area for keeping chickens shall not be less than ten square feet of floor space per chicken".

I'm planning on 10 sq. run per chicken, but I'm thinking the coop maybe should be a bit bigger than the BYC recommended 4 sq. per.

Any ideas from you folks that right now have snow up to your belly buttons?

2. greenriver

greenriver Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 19, 2010
    Wilmington, Il
    Hello. how many chickens are you planning to keep?

3. cabincrazyone

Dec 26, 2010
    NE Minnesota
    Four full size DP brown eggers that are cold hardy like Rocks, Cochins, Wyandotts ....

4. spartacus_63

spartacus_63 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 21, 2009
    Central Iowa
    4sq ft per for four hens is ample coop space for the previously mentioned confinement purposes. Bigger is not always better. As long as you will not later want MORE birds. Good luck and [​IMG]

5. oldchickenlady

oldchickenlady Chillin' With My Peeps

May 9, 2010
    Cabot, AR