Cold Nights and Pecking Order

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by JPHens, Nov 30, 2013.

1. JPHens

JPHens Out Of The Brooder

Nov 30, 2013
    I have four pullets and I'm new at this - I've had them since mid October. They have a clear alpha hen and one who tends to be pushed around by her more than the others. My concern is sleeping in the cold. Tonight the three non-alpha gals went to roost, all cozy next to each other, with the Alpha gal still out in the run. When she came in she pushed the lowest status hen ("Rusty" off the roost, and Rusty moped around a little. Then she went onto the other roost, by herself. It is around 30 degrees F, and I think she'd probably be more comfortable next to others. It does get colder than this in the winter (Massachusetts). I would love to know more about pecking order and cold weather roosting. Thanks for any feedback.

2. Coop de Cuse

Coop de Cuse Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 22, 2013
    East Syracuse, NY
    The temp should be fine. I live in Syracuse and it was down to 7 last night and all of my feathered friends were ok.

If you want all of them to roost together, try moving the lower hen next to the others after the lights are out. The others should not notice. I have to do that sometimes and it helps to do it when they have a hard time seeing.

I hope this helps [​IMG]

3. JPHens

Nov 30, 2013
    Hmmm... I've heard this suggested before, to move them at dark. We'll see if the mean sleep-related behavior continues... thanks for your reply.

4. Coop de Cuse

Coop de Cuse Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 22, 2013
    East Syracuse, NY
    [​IMG] I hope it works [​IMG]

5. babyfoot

babyfoot Chillin' With My Peeps

I have my roost all at same level and all together so they have no option but to sit beside each other. They still get pecked at dusk but once it gets dark they all settle down and sleep.

6. Chickens R Us

Chickens R Us Chillin' With My Peeps