Color Sexing EE's (lots of pics!)

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by kimchick621, Oct 16, 2013.

1. kimchick621

kimchick621 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 23, 2012
    I don't know if this has been posted about before, but..I'm a newbie and this is my very first hatch. I'm hoping to breed olive eggers, and I've read that you can learn to color sex them when they're quite young. I'm pretty sure mine might be too young to sex, but I have some suspicions already and would love some experienced thoughts. My first batch as of today is between 9-10 days old. I hope to update the thread as they mature and it's easier of course to tell their sex. Here they are!!

1. This is the first one to hatch. I named it Spot, and I've read the multi colors on the fluff can hint to it's sex (roo). However I've also read that being so young with the dark legs is indicative to being a gal.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

3. This fella has got some red on it's head, it's papa is a beautiful red roo who's a EE/Copper Maran mix.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

4. This dark fella was a surprise. It's mother is pure white, so to have such a dark thing hatch was a shock. :)

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

5. I have a few grey ones. I'm having trouble telling them apart from the rest...so hopefully I don't get them mixed up!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    Sexing by color depends on feathers, not down. This group is too young to tell at this point, sorry. Lots can change from down to juvenile plumage, and then from juvvie plumage to adult. Try again around 6ish weeks when they're feathered.

On the first bird where you mentioned the dark legs indicating female--that's only on barred breeds as far as I know, and it's not dark legs overall but a "wash" of dark color down the front of an otherwise yellow leg. So no help there, either.