1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Colorado Springs newbie!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by jmcollier14, Feb 28, 2017.

1. jmcollier14

jmcollier14 New Egg

Feb 28, 2017
    Hi everyone!!
    My family and I just moved from Georgia in november. We are currently trying to buy our first home and it has a perfect area for chickens!!:) I have always wanted chickens since I was a little girl. I am very new to everything. I would love any advice you are wiling to give. Our main goal is to raise our son and future children around as many animals as possible along with collecting lovely eggs. I am looking at getting maybe 2-3 as the area that has been pre-fenced isn't huge but a good ammount of room for them! I have no clue where to start. Should I start with chick's(mind you we all work full time and won't have much rasing time) or should I look at rehoming adult hens in hopes they are comfortable and produce? What is a good breed?

Thank you all again in advanced!!!

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas, jmcollier, and [​IMG]! Pleased you joined our flock! I am in favor of starting with chicks but here are some pros and cons.
    Pros: you pick the breeds you want, they are cute as babies, you will have access to the full laying cycle of the bird.
    Cons: the time and work involved in getting them up to laying age, not sure of age of adult birds - may be toward the end of their production, not sure if they are healthy, not sure how calm or skittish they are.