Colourful basket- Who produces what?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by HomesteadingCox, Mar 22, 2017.

1. HomesteadingCox

HomesteadingCox Just Hatched

Mar 15, 2017
    Ontario, Canada
    Im looking to add a few more chickens to my current flock (without the husband noticing, they dont understand chicken math, right?) Haha, I have already, Columbian Rock(1R, 2H), RIR (1H), BSL (1H), RSL(1H), I am currently getting a medium brown egg colour from my girls, and creamy white eggs from my ducks, I would love to add some colour! What breeds are "common" (not looking for $100 hens that are only 1 in 10,000) that lay coloured eggs? I am hoping some are cold hardy as our winters get quite harsh. I would love blue, green, kidney bean red, speckled, etc. I don't know what to look for, who to breed who with, what breeds lay what colours, etc. I am new to the whole egg colour cross breeding thing. Any input on breeds or where I can find them in Ontario (that ships if they are far away) would be wonderful!

1 person likes this.
  2. lomine

lomine Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 7, 2015
    Peyton, CO
    The least expensive option for adding color would be Easter Eggers (often falsely labeled as Americana or Ameraucana). They are sort of a mixed bag, not a real breed. With EEs you won't know their egg color till they start laying. They can lay blue, green, brown, pink (pale brown), or rarely white. There are also some mixed breeds called Olive Eggers that can lay a darker shade of olive green egg.

If you want guaranteed blue eggs you can get true Ameraucanas, true Araucanas, or Legbars. Getting the real deal with require a bit more research/work and they will be more expensive than EEs. There are hatcheries that sell true Ameraucanas and Legbars. With the Ameraucanas and Araucanas you want to make sure they are sold with their color. If no color is listed it is likely an EE.