Comb and beak problems/Fowl Pox?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by LyonsZoo, Oct 16, 2016.

1. LyonsZoo

LyonsZoo Out Of The Brooder

Hi!

I am new to chickens. Four of my chickens have something wrong with their combs and beaks. What is this? Thanks

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. minihorse927

minihorse927 Whipper snapper Premium Member

Nov 3, 2010
    That does appear to be fowl pox. That looks like the dry form. Check inside the mouth for lesions. The wet form is much more troublesome that the dry form.

Oxytetracycline can help prevent secondary infections during the outbreak. Outbreaks can last several weeks in one bird and several months as it works through the flock. It is spread from one bird to another through feathers, dander, scabs, and wound secretions. If you have unaffected birds than get them somewhere that isn't infected and clean the coop 100% out and spray with oxine. It will help kill of spores from the disease. It will just have to run its course in the affected birds and you just provide symptoms treatment.

3. LyonsZoo

Thanks for responding. That is what I was thinking it could be. Should I give them vitamins as well? I really don't have a place to put the others. I would have to let them free range and they would probably not make it around here. My hens just started laying eggs? Will this cause a problem and is it safe to eat the eggs?

4. LyonsZoo

Can I buy the oxine and oxtetracycline at Tractor Supply?

5. minihorse927

minihorse927 Whipper snapper Premium Member

Nov 3, 2010