Coming Home Story and Pics of new chicks (MM's meat and egg combo)

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by ChicknLover, May 7, 2007.

1. ChicknLover

ChicknLover Out Of The Brooder

Mar 27, 2007
    Montello
    I had 3 hens for the last 2 summers, one passed due to prolapse and now I have two hens and a tractor, I recieved them from my sister in law when they were young but feathered out...

This is my first time with baby chicks [​IMG], ordered from Murray McMurray, and just picked them up from the Main Post Office in Madison, WI yesterday ( I had to knock on the door and explain myself, I guess they let Priority mail sit there until Monday!, only Express mail has a tracking number, so a very helpfull man looked out on the dock and found them for me! I told him I would hug him if I knew him better! He said there were a lot of boxes making peeping noises! I just couldn't wait until Monday to have them call me, couldn't stand knowing they were there and I coudn't take care of them! My Brother lives near Madison so I went there and had them all drink some sugar water and packed them up for the hour + ride home. Once home I put the GroGell powder in warm water and it got thick rather fast and put it on their food and boy were they hungry, eat eat eat poop eat drink etc...
    then I kept playing with their brooder light to get the temp just right, as the temp went way down when I put the food and water in the brooder then it went up too high then I got it just right! After watching them and taking pics I finally went to sleep about 10:30 last night -whew.