Compact mass in feathers on underside

5Leepy!

Chirping
8 Years
May 17, 2011
Austin, TX
Hi there,

I'm new to chickens and new to the forum. My husband and I got 3 hens about a week ago and they're all approximately 1 year old. The oldest and "leader" is having some issues and has since been demoted and is no longer the lead Hen. She has diarreah and is being bullied. Today I made a dust bath for them with some diatomaceous earth in case it's mites or fleas and I've added some Wazine-17 to their water for worming just in case. (they all have diarreah now but she's got it the worst and was the first) We brought her into the house to clean off her poopy feathers and have discovered a large mass of yuck on her underside. I used my hose sprayer attachment in my sink with mild detergent to try to break it up as best I could but barely made a dent. I did notice that several burrs came out. We don't have burrs in our yard so I'm pretty sure this is an issue that started before they arrived. When I tried to manually break up the mass with my fingers, it looked like it was hurting her as it was pulling on feathers it's attached to. The mass is right up against her body and I can see the skin and feathers pulling so it must be painful. Any suggestions as to how to get this off of her? Would some sort of vegetable oil help? Could this mass be causing her diarreah at all?

Thanks for any advice you have... She's the tamest and nicest of the bunch and she's clearly not feeling well. I really don't want to lose her. The other birds are ostracising her a bit and last night she slept separate from them.

Thanks!
5Leepy!