Complete Newbie - Chickens and pygmy goats...

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by angelkmartin, Mar 18, 2015.

1. angelkmartin

angelkmartin New Egg

Mar 18, 2015
    Ok, let me start by saying, I am learning as I go. It started with a few chickens roaming the yard, to building a coup, to adding chics and then.. A beautiful 3 day old, pygmy billie landed in my lap. I had no idea what I was getting into, but I fell in love immediately. All I was given was a nipple, and a milk recipe with whole milk/evaporated and buttermilk, which he is thriving on. He is now 5 weeks old and the questions are beginning to pile.. I have read, researched and seem more confused than ever.. #1 Should I be weening him from the bottle? The only interest he has in anything other than a bottle is my rose bushes. I have offered sweet feed, alpha, and the yard... Now I have read do not feed alpha or sweet feed. I am sooo confused. #2 Water, to give or not to give.. Obviously, I leave fresh water for him everywhere, but again he has no interest. # 3 Hooves, when do i need to begin trimming? I am desperately trying to find him a friend, but so far no luck.

I realize, this is probably redundant and I swear, I have been reading. Seems like everything is conflicting.

2. FarmFanatic

FarmFanatic New Egg

Mar 14, 2015
    well, i dont have any goats yet buthave been researching a lot. i would start him on water now in the bottle, still use milk, then at 6 weeks wean him completly. he doesent need to be weaned till 8 weeks tho. start hand feeding him that alfalfa as well. as for trimming you should do it every 4 weeks. hope this was helpful

3. angelkmartin

angelkmartin New Egg

Mar 18, 2015
    I was worried it was too early to start trimming.

4. Stacykins

Stacykins Overrun With Chickens

Jan 19, 2011
    Escanaba, MI