Completely new

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by abeebe1989, Jun 23, 2016.

1. abeebe1989

abeebe1989 New Egg

Jun 23, 2016
    Anderson, SC
    Hello from Anderson, SC. I just want to start out by saying I am completely new to chicken raising. In the researching stage of egg-layers right now. Also, I live in the city limits and unsure if I am allowed to have any hens. If anyone has any advice, it would be very appreciated.

2. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    Welcome to BYC [​IMG] Glad you joined the flock! First of, check here to find out about your local laws and ordinances:

https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/3/Laws

(Your state thread for locals) https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/270925/find-your-states-thread/0_30

Once you got the go-ahead, here's a quick guide to chicken breed(s) choosing and your options:

https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/...cken-guide-to-picking-backyard-chicken-breeds

Best of luck with your venture and fingers crossed the ordinances are in your favour!

3. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi and welcome to BYC - glad that you have joined us. I'd suggest that you contact your city / town administration regarding whether keeping chickens is permitted.

I've just seen @Sumi's post, which also provides excellent links to help you out.

Good luck
    CT

4. write2caroline

write2caroline Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 21, 2009
    Jacksonville
    Welcome to BYC
    Glad you could join us.

If your city has rules against chicken keeping -
    You can choose to keep stealth chickens - there are coop plans and everything.
    I would suggest you only have hens - many chicken vendors will send you sexed chicks.
    My pet Chicken
    Murry McMurry
    to name a couple