composting hen urine?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by klutterer, Jan 24, 2011.

1. klutterer

klutterer Out Of The Brooder

Jan 5, 2011
    Folsom
    Hi --

I'm new to chickens and composting. I have 3 hens in a 4x12 foot run with about 2 inches of sand. The ground is hard clay and there's weed barrier (plastic I think, but porous) under that. The garden is raised bed with compost that I bought a few years ago.

I just bought a compost tumbler to start making use of the amazing amount of poop 3 chooks produce. I put in my first load of cardboard and manure today.

When I was moving around sand in the chicken run, I found a layer of clumpy sand that smells horrible. I'm guessing it's urine, but really am not sure. It was pretty widespread, not concentrated in the usual poop spots. My guess is that it's chicken urine that somehow binds the sand together -- it looks like cement, and chunks hold together when lifted, but the material will crumble easily.

Can I toss this stuff in the composter?

Thanks for any advice!

2. AZBootsie

AZBootsie Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 10, 2010
    Congress, AZ
    My Coop
    Chickens don't really urinate. They just have the white urea stuff on top of their droppings. Not sure what you found??

3. Imp

Imp All things share the same breath- Chief Seattle

Quote:Sounds like you found cecal poop. It's a runny smelly poop that chicken do occasionally, like 1 in every 6 poops, or something like that. Here for your viewing pleasure are all the pix of poop you could ever hope to see.

http://www.chat.allotment.org.uk/index.php?topic=17568.0

Imp

4. klutterer

Jan 5, 2011
    Folsom
    Thanks -- fun photos... : )

Could there be enough cecal poop to produce a whole layer (3/4 inch thick) of "cementy" sand?

And if so, what should I do with it?

Is the cecal poop a good thing for compost? Is sand a bad thing?

5. Happy Chooks

Happy Chooks Moderator Staff Member

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop