Concerns over commercial feed

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Irish6425, Apr 9, 2012.

1. Irish6425

Irish6425 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 9, 2012
    Houston, TX
    I am new to Backyard Chickens and have spent the past 2 days reading through everything and have seen arguments for & against only allowing free range & scratch feed. Commercial grain is not an option for my family because of the chemicals it has in it, even the organic feeds. We live a chemical, additive free diet and if we are feeding our chickens chemicals then we in turn are eating them.

Does anyone know of any companies that make feed with no additives and/or chemicals and are organic? The only things I have seen is the scratch feed. Does anyone have a recipe they would be willing to share? I have pullets that will be layers and some that will be broilers.

2. WI FarmChick

WI FarmChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 22, 2012
    Wisconsin
    There is some great info on these sites as well.

Not sure about the organic part .... I know organic would be better for them, But I just feed whole grains I mix up from my local feed mill.
    I also want to say... This is my first flock I am feeding whole grains to. I did have to grind the grains when they were little. (too big to eat)
    The flock of 40 are now 8 weeks old. Almost eating all there feed as whole grains now. good luck.

http://www.lionsgrip.com/recipes.html

http://www.themodernhomestead.us/article/making-poultry-feeds-1.html

http://twohunnyzrabbitry.webs.com/wholegrainchickenfeed.htm

3. Irish6425

Apr 9, 2012
    Houston, TX
  4. WI FarmChick

Feb 22, 2012
    Wisconsin
    That's great! Glad you found some. [​IMG]

How many are you getting? They are sooooooo cute when they are little.

5. Irish6425

Apr 9, 2012
    Houston, TX