Confused about egg laying

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by K9bandit, Jul 4, 2008.

1. K9bandit

K9bandit New Egg

Jul 4, 2008
    Ok here goes.
    I am new to chickens and I just got 6 of them the second week of june
    They are red cross hens and were about 17 weeks old when i got them.
    about 2 weeks ago i think one started laying and since i have gotton 5 eggs. is this normal do they all take a while to lay once a day. and the one that is laying is laying about every other day.
    Also i have had quite a bonus 3 of my 5 eggs were double yokes and boy they tasted like nothing i ever ate.

So i guess my question is when do they all start laying every day

2. LynneP

LynneP Chillin' With My Peeps

I hope experienced folks will answer your question more effectively- I suspect your layers settling in and getting into a routine. You don't mention what you're feeding, setup, etc.

My gils are 7 weeks and I'm looking forward to the stage you're now experiencing. I have golden comets and red crosses, too.[​IMG]

3. warren

warren Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 29, 2007
    UK
    About 20-21 weeks seems to be the age at which they lay. I haven't had any double yolkers yet. One of mine has laid an egg every day for a week and a half. They are much smaller than the ones my 3 year old lays, but they should get bigger. I had two eggs on toast today. yum.

4. K9bandit

K9bandit New Egg

Jul 4, 2008
    i am feeding them blue seal egg layer i have a feeder in the coop i built which is 4 feet by 8 feet and outside in the pen. i also have water in both places which i change every day.
    I will post pictures later.

5. bigzio

bigzio Overrun With Chickens

Jan 20, 2007
    Wisconsin
    It will take them a little while to adjust to the the new coop they call home. Chickens don't care for change much, so routine is a good thing to keep in mind.

bigzio

6. K9bandit

K9bandit New Egg

Jul 4, 2008