1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

confused about food type to use in a mixed flock

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Zoomom, Sep 11, 2010.

1. Zoomom

Zoomom Certified Cackleberry Consumer

Jan 22, 2009
    Ontario, Canada
    Hi,
    I have only ever had layers before, so this is my first time with mixed age birds. I have a 1 1/2 year old Silkie hen, currently broody with 5 eggs under her, due to hatch next week (I hope) and 4 young pullets with ages ranging from 12-14 weeks. When I got them, they were 4, 5 and 6 weeks old so I bought a bag of chick starter crumbles and put that food in a bowl under the suspended layer feed container, which is whole and cracked grains. I figured my adult Silkie would eat her regular food because it is way more exciting than crumbs. She did. Gradually the babies have become tall enough to reach the adult feeder and can fly well enough to help themselves to the layer feed, so they eat both now. There is also a separate oyster shell container. They get grass or another veggie treat in the evenings.

But the chick starter is medicated, and I didn't realize they sold me medicated until it was to late and I already opened it.

My questions are:

What do I do about the new chicks when they hatch? Continue with the chick starter for them and let the others eat what they want as they currently do? I figure when this bag of feed is gone, I'll buy grower or just let everyone eat the layer feed. But which is better for the chickens? Should I go straight to layer only and skip the grower?

Also, if the pullets start laying, should I throw away the eggs since they may have eaten medicated food?