Confused about hatchery vs. breeder

cnlanier

Hatching
9 Years
Nov 23, 2010
I'm new to this and it seems like every day it gets a little more complex. I went from thinking places like McMurray hatchery were the only way to go to thinking they are the Monsanto of the chicken world.
I guess I need it explained to me like a 2 year old to fully understand.
Is it, if you get chickens from hatcheries you are focused on using the birds to make money and then get them out to make way for the new ones, to keep the money flow coming,
and if you get them from breeders you are more interested in preserving the breed and enjoying the chickens as pets, and also getting an egg here or there?
Is it as black and white as, people who buy from hatcheries don't care and people who buy from breeders do?
Can't figure it out. Just want to do the right thing.

Thanks

no its just personal preference only chickens i dont think i like from hatcherys are silkies compared to breeders i got both and my hatchery 1s are mostly i ugly i have 2 that are almost breeder but no cigar but rhode island reds i prefer hatchery becouse they are lighter color idk enough yet to claim hatchery qualitys lay better but i know my rir hen lays an egg a day

Quote:
I find that the breeders will not sex their chicks or sometimes claim to. I found that whenever I ws told it was a girl almost 75% of the time it was a boy. I have better luck with hatcheries and the prices are less expensive. If you are looking for heritage breeds for nostalgia and perhaps showing you definately want a breeder. But if you are looking for pets and eggs, the hatcheries are a good choice. I did lots of research on the different hatcheries and found that the survival rate from Ideal is poor both in delivery and longevity as adults. I have ordered from Mcmurray before and have had great luck with them. Their prices are a bit higher, but, the old saying is true. You get what you pay for:thumbsup

This is the way I understand it...