Confused about my broody, please advise!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by lceh, Apr 8, 2011.

1. lceh

lceh Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 15, 2008
    Central Virginia
    I am new to ducks so please be patient! My duck started acted broody last Sunday, so I let her keep her eggs and she's been adding an egg a day of her own, plus whatever I've snuck under her from someone else. She has a total of 8 eggs now. She's been sitting tight ever since Sunday evening. In order to keep her flockmate from sneaking eggs in the nest, I set up a second nest box two days ago. Yesterday and today, I found an egg from my broody girl in the NEW nestbox -- apparently she got off her clutch, laid an egg over there, and then got back on her nest. What's up? Is this her way of telling me her clutch is closed and she doesn't want any more eggs added? Or should I put the egg under her with the rest? I know it's hers because she's my only green egg layer.

I have to admit I don't understand how she can be continuing to add eggs to her clutch still have them all hatch around the same time -- is the hatching going to last for several days? This is my first time with a broody so I'm a little unclear. Thanks for any help.

2. dumb_cluck

dumb_cluck Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 26, 2010
    Upstate NY
    Ducks take about 28 days to hatch. Even though she laid eggs at different times, somehow, she knows when they will start to hatch. I think she knows how long to set if she knows there are more eggs coming. So in essence, she is "timing" the clutch hatching date.

As far as an egg in another box........are you sure it is her that is laying it?

I personally would not seed more eggs under her. JMHO

3. lceh

Oct 15, 2008
    Central Virginia
    Yes, I know it's hers. I only have 2 hens and she's the only one who lays green eggs. Hmmm. Guess maybe I'll put this last one in the fridge, not under the duck!

4. dumb_cluck

dumb_cluck Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 26, 2010
    Upstate NY