Considering getting chicks - should I wait till spring??

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by yankeefan, Aug 7, 2011.

1. yankeefan

yankeefan Out Of The Brooder

Jun 18, 2011
    Upstate NY
    I'm pretty new to chickens and I have a bit of a dilemma. I have lost 2 of my 4 chickens to a predator recently. I believe that problem is taken care of now.

I'm considering ordering 6 RIR chicks and setting up a brooder in the basement of our house. I've read that baby chicks can go outside after 5-12 weeks, so, I'm wondering what would be best for the chicks considering that I live in upstate NY and that summer is nearing it's end. I'd like to get them into the coop when the time is right, but with fall right around the corner, I'm not sure at what times (ages) it would be best to do so.

Temps during Oct. are between 30 and 70 degrees here. November temps range from 20 at night, and as high as 65 during the day.

Thank you for any input and advice you can lend. If I should wait till spring I can do that too.

2. umanduhbree

umanduhbree Out Of The Brooder

Aug 6, 2011
    Lacona, IA
    CHickens are pretty hardy, even little babies. If they are fully feathered when they go outside, they should be able to regulate their temperature. But you may need to keep a heat lamp outside for those especially cold nights.

3. featherz

featherz Veggie Chick

Mar 22, 2010
    Saratoga County, NY
    Quote:I am also in upstate NY and hatched chicks all winter. It will be fine. I even had chicks in my barn when it was single digits once they were fully feathered at about 6 weeks. Didn't lose a single one. You won't want chicks in your house that are 12 weeks old! [​IMG]

4. Hummingbird Hollow

Hummingbird Hollow Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 1, 2011
    Colorado mountains