Contemplating raising meat birds

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by Doebob, Mar 9, 2017.

1. Doebob

Doebob Out Of The Brooder

Feb 26, 2017
    Indiana
    I am thinking about possibly raising meat birds next spring. This is my first year with layers so hopefully by next spring I will have had enough experience to be ready for meat birds. My question is how many meat birds would feed a family of 5 for a year? I know that birds are hatched continuously throughout spring (not sure if it is all year, though) so I could possibly have a couple of batches if I do it right. My husband and I have about a 1/8 of an acre dedicated to my chicken adventures. I do not want to overwhelm the space between my currently planned 10 layers amd my meat birds. Advice for a newbie would be greatly apprectiated. Thanks in advance.

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    It's a hard question to answer. How often do you plan to eat chicken? Will you raise them up and process them young - like 6-8 weeks - in order to be fryers? Or bigger to be roasters? My wife and I prefer roasting them. We raise them a little slower and get them up to about 12 pounds live weight. That makes for a big processed chicken. When we cook one we eat on that bird for a good part of a week. The initial meal of the roasted chicken. Then just eat off of the remaining meat - and there's a lot, and finally chicken soup. So, we eat about a chicken a month so for us - we get by with 12-15 chickens per year.
    You are correct - meat birds (Cornish Cross at least) are available pretty much throughout the year. You could try out a few this spring, see how it goes, and if the raising and processing goes well....see how fast your family is eating them up and then get more in the fall.

Last edited: Mar 9, 2017
    1 person likes this.
  3. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator