1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Coo-ee!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by ChrissyH88, Feb 20, 2017.

1. ChrissyH88

ChrissyH88 Just Hatched

Feb 20, 2017
    Corby northants, UK
    Hi all! My name is Chrissy, I am raising chicks for the 1st ever time, my son is being home schooled by me, and we thought it'd be a fun project, so they're technically his chicks, but they love me [​IMG] they're currently 3 weeks old (ish) and seem to be doing well, already terrified that my favourite (Blue) will be a boy and break my heart [​IMG] any advice for a total noob? X[​IMG][/IMG]

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings, Chrissy, and [​IMG]! It's great to have you in our community! As a newcomer to chickens you might like to check out the many useful articles in the Learning Center here: https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center
    In terms of the gender of the one in question, I can assure you I am the wrong person to ask and honestly, it looks a little young to be definitive about. But in time you might post some close up pics in this link: https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/15/what-breed-or-gender-is-this The folks that patrol that thread are experts.
    Also, if you'd like to chat with some "locals," there is a a UK thread in this link: https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/26/where-am-i-where-are-you
    Best wishes with your chick raising - ask any questions you might have along the way - and thanks for joining BYC!! [​IMG]

3. CuzChickens

CuzChickens CountryChick

Apr 24, 2016
    Virginia
    Hi there, and welcome to the forum! I'm so glad you joined BYC, please make yourself at home here, and enjoy all the chickeny folks! :frow

~Cuz

4. Yorkshire Coop