Cooling off methods?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by remuda1, Jun 13, 2011.

1. remuda1

remuda1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 12, 2011
    Granbury, Texas
    It's 104 here as I type. I've got two week old chicks in an outside brooder. They're in the shade and have plenty of breeze, cool water, etc. but I decided to try a couple of shallow pans with play sand in them and I wet the sand down.....no standing water in them. But maybe a good place to cool off those feet and scratch around in? What do you all think? I'm very new at chicks!!

Thanks in advance, I hope you're all having a great day [​IMG]

Kristi

2. ParadiseFoundFarm

ParadiseFoundFarm Goddess of Good Things

Jul 6, 2010
    Joliet, IL
    [​IMG]
    I put my babies in the grow-out pen along with a full grown hen. I change the hen every 4 days. Just by accident I discovered that the hens had dug a hole in the turf, then the babies think the best thing for them is to expand the hole. It's cool. The babies love to wallo in there as it is cool and fun. Perhaps you could dig a little in the grassy, shaded area and let them discover how fun it is to dig down to the cool sub-earth? Just a shallow chicken sized depression is good enough.
    Denise
    Paradise Found

3. cmom

cmom Hilltop Farm

Nov 18, 2007
    Florida
    My Coop
    [​IMG]
    Quote:That is an excellent idea. Good luck and enjoy!!! [​IMG] [​IMG]

4. mrszlopez

mrszlopez Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 4, 2009
    Jackson,NJ
    [​IMG] as well !

It got about that high here in Jersey last week & i put a bunch of gallons of frozen water around the coop and run. I went out an hour later and found my girls sitting next to & over top of the gallons with wings spread.
    I also put some ice cubes in their water. good luck !

5. remuda1

remuda1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 12, 2011
    Granbury, Texas