Coop Advice Needed

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by EricaLee, Mar 26, 2017.

1. EricaLee

EricaLee Out Of The Brooder

Sep 11, 2012
    Hi all. I am new to chickens, we've had goats in the past but this is a whole new ball game. I have 6 pullets, they are all for now still in the brooder since they are just about 4 weeks old. We have been working diligently on the coop and I've run into a couple questions that I need more experienced people to help me with. So I have attached a picture of our coop and run, it is in total 5'5" wide x 10' Long x 3" tall. I bought a coop in a box as the starting point and then we built a run. Now that we are in the final stages of set up (getting the run attached to the coop and all locks in place) when I get roosting poles and such in the run I am baffled as to where to put the food. It needs to stay dry and looking at my set up I don't know where that will be. We have a PVC set up for the feeder (I posted a picture of what I plan to do below as well) Any ideas of how we should set it up? Should I build some type of mini food shelter within the run? We plan to so a self watering chicken nipple system as well. I'm just concerned now that my set up it too open for them leaving little to no shelter from the rain, we plan to tarp 1/2 of it in in the winter months but open in the summer months, we are in NC. Also, am I going to regret not being able to walk in, I feel like I might be regretting that seeing so many others with walk in coops? It's already really done so not sure I can even go back on that now. My husband made it top opening when I thought I was clear I wanted a side door, am I going to regret that as well? I guess I'm just looking for some help as to how this will all flow when in use. Thanks for the help form a new chicken momma!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas