Coop and chicken tractor?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by forestrymom, Sep 11, 2010.

1. forestrymom

forestrymom Out Of The Brooder

Sep 11, 2010
    We are going to get chickens this spring, and are trying to get prepared for it. I was thinking a medium size coop with a run for the winter time (when there is snow on the ground) with an additional chicken tractor to free range in the summer. But do I need the tractor for them to be free ranging or is the run enough? Will the tractor reduce the amount of cleaning I need to do? How big does it all need to be (like a certain square footage for each chicken?)?

Thanks--I'm new to all this, obviously!

2. tnchickenut

tnchickenut It's all about the Dels!

Jan 24, 2010
    Englewood, TN
    No matter how big you make a run on a coop... within no time it will be just dirt, and in the rainny days... mud. So, that said, yes, you would want a tractor to move them around. This way they always have fresh grass to graze and your lawn doesn't have bald spots. Moving the tractors before the grass is killed will actually help your grass as grass LOVES nitrogen, which chicken poo has plenty of! It's much healthier for the chickens too.

When you say "medium" sized I take it you mean 6-10 chickens, am I right? You want 2-3 sq. feet per bird in the coop for the winter. The coop also needs to be ventilated but for winter no drafts. I stuff my opening with straw in the coldest days. For the tractor, you would want 3-4 sq. feet per bird..... these numbers are assuming these are standards. Bantams you just cut the number in half.

I have built and built and built and I will tell you.... I looked at my first coop the other day and thought, "Boy, I wasted alot of money on that". I just built a tractor and only spent $70 on everything new. My first coop is less functional and less safe (preditor proof) and cost nearly $1000 and that was trying to save money.