Coop Bedding

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by takidwell, Jun 24, 2016.

1. takidwell

takidwell New Egg

Jun 24, 2016
    I am new to having backyard chickens. I have 4 chickens (Silkies and Polish). The coop has the roosting bars and nesting boxes. I have bedding in the nesting box and currently on the floor under the roosting bars. There is a sliding part for cleaning the roosting area, however with the bedding it makes a mess and is not very easy. It also makes a mess with the food and water I have in there. Do I need bedding under the roosting bars?

2. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    You don't need bedding under the roosting bars, no. Since we all have different setups and circumstances, its always best to do what suits you. With no bedding however, the area under the roosts should be cleaned every day to prevent a build up of ammonia and general dirtiness. Bedding absorbs a lot of the liquid from poo, and reduces odours.

Providing you can ensure that you let your chickens out of the coop at day break, without fail, feed and water can be left outside the coop. An automatic pop door would save you from getting up at the crack of dawn during the summer months, should you so wish.

CT

3. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    CT is right, we are all unique in everything so we all have to find our own way. I don’t know what your coop looks like, how old your chickens are, or how you manage them. It’s hard to get really specific on suggestions without knowing a lot more so I’ll try to be general.