Coop design for fluctuating flock sizes?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by EeyoreD, Apr 7, 2012.

1. EeyoreD

EeyoreD Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 26, 2012
    Attica, MI
    I'm having a little trouble here figuring out a coop situation. (and I'm totally new to all this)

The situation is this:

I have a dozen RIR chicks straight run so there are likely more roos in there than I want. I would also like to get some ducks (muscovies) at some point this year. I plan on keeping some pullets for eggs, but mostly everything else would be for meat (I'll keep some scovies to produce next years crop).

So this means that I'll have several months with lots of birds and then many months with maybe 5 chickens and however many ducks I'll need to create supply.

It doesn't seem to make sense to build a coop(s) for the larger flock when they will only be around for a little while, but then I don't want them harassing each other due to space when they are there.

I live in Michigan so winters are cold and snowy and the summers are hot but again, the size of the coop that has to deal with the cold and snow wouldn't need to be as large as the "summer coop".

Is there some solution to this that I haven't found browsing threads in the forums?

I wouldn't really need a large run because in the summer the birds would be completely free range during the day and just locked up safe at night but I can't seem to figure out the best way for the coop. I know I'm not the only one in this situation but I can't seem to find the answer. Thanks!

2. FireTigeris

FireTigeris Tyger! Tyger! burning bright

A summer door and a winter door, winter out to a run, summer out to the yard, the summer door to provide more airflow is also the people door for coop cleaning, use sand in summer and deep litter (so there is less cleaning) in winter.

Have access to the eggs from outside the run and coop, have access to 'poop boards' from outside the coop and run.