Coop du Jour: another Playhouse Coop (pics)

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by SewingDiva, May 25, 2008.

1. SewingDiva

SewingDiva Chillin' With My Peeps

Today was a picture perfect New England spring day, and DH spent most of it working on our Playhouse Coop. It went together pretty well, I'd say that one or two people with advanced intermediate wood working skills will have no problem.

[​IMG]

We were able find to all of the materials at Lowes, and the only real change we made was to use Tuftex vinyl panels for the roof instead of standing metal seam, which I could not find anywhere in such a small quantity and still be cost-effective. The Tuftex panels also came from Lwoes.

[​IMG]

I started painting it today, and will finish it up tomorrow, which is supposed to be a nice day as well. Then it needs just the roof, exterior trim and the interior stuff.

[​IMG]

Sorry about the weeds! This part of our yard has been sadly neglected while we work on other renovations, but now that the coop is here I need to get this area back in shape!

~Phyllis

2. asher

asher Chicken Enabler Extraordinaire

Jan 26, 2007
    Mountains of NC
    Looking great!

3. SterlingAcres

SterlingAcres Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 17, 2008
    Poconos, PA
    Looks great!! Can't wait to see it finished [​IMG]

4. redoak

redoak Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 27, 2008
    Russia, NY
    I love the rock wall with the built in steps. The coop looks pretty nice too.

5. CarlaRiggs

CarlaRiggs Chillin' With My Peeps

Diva ~

Your Coop du Jour looks terrific! [​IMG] DH is doing a wonderful job of putting the coop together. Will you explain about the roofing materials you plan to use? I'd like to hear more about it. please. [​IMG]
    And what weeds? I see beautiful greenery and fat poppy buds that are about to burst open. Your chickens will love their new digs!

Carla

6. melirobin

melirobin Out Of The Brooder

May 22, 2008