1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Coop Floor

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by joebok, Sep 5, 2008.

1. joebok

joebok New Egg

Sep 5, 2008
    Vashon Island
    I am new to chickens - just made a coop to house 3 barred plymouth rocks. I have a question on the flooring. My goal was to make a coop that was easy to clean - I thought droppings boards would be a good way to go. So I have 3 removable sections of parallel 1x2s with space in between for the stuff to fall through.

That is fine - my question is - can this be the floor (open to air below), or do I need a "subfloor" that the droppings boards will sit on?

I live near Seattle, Washington. We don't have very cold winters here - except every once in a while we get a couple days of freezing weather. Every book I read says you need a coop that is well ventilated but not drafty. In practical terms - does that mean you need a closed floor, or would a wire/droppings board floor that is open to air be okay?

Many thanks for any insights!

Joe

2. 3 sisters farm

3 sisters farm Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 20, 2008
    puyallup wa
    That would be hard to clean, solid covered with remnat linoleom would be easier.....we get so wet here I need to change bedding regularly, and water would seek in from underneath....at least where I am. I'm new too but its fairly cheap to get scraplinoleum...check out new development...do ask first...I got a 4 by 6 scrap one small cut...will do the bottom....for free. Try freecycle and craiglist as well. What chickens do you have.

3. orbirdman

orbirdman Out Of The Brooder

Aug 25, 2008
    oregon