Coop From Kids Plastic Playhouse?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Texas Fluffy Feet, Feb 20, 2008.

1. Texas Fluffy Feet

Texas Fluffy Feet Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 20, 2008
    Arlington, TX
    Hi Group!

I am a newbie. I lurked here a couple of years back when I first decided I wanted Chickens to learn more about keeping them as pets. I grew up on a farm where we had chickens for eggs and meat. Now I am a city girl and I just want some fancy ones for pets. I no longer have a barn the size of a double bay garage to turn into a coop or an area the size of my backyard to be their run. I do have a nice sized spot on the back side of my yard for them though.
    My sweet husband was supposed to build me a coop 2 years ago for Christmas, then Valentines Day, then Easter... for 2 years now. I've decided he isn't going to do it and I am tired of waiting! I have a whole bale of Chicken wire to create my run and the perfect spot to do it. I just need a coop and I'm not confident I could build one by myself. So that leads to my question- do you think for no more than 4 bantam's I could convert an old Little Tykes playhouse into a coop? I looked at some of the small designs on here and I think it would be comparable in size. The inside demensions are: 3'9" at the highest point tall, 3'10" wide and 2'10" deep. If heigth is an issue, I have quite a few cinder blocks that I could use to raise it. I have already planned to anchor the coop down to the ground with steel cables. The cinder blocks may actually make this task easier. Please let me know what you think. I can almost hear all the eggs hatching and I don't want to go another year without my chicks! Thanks in Advance!

2. silkiechicken

silkiechicken Staff PhD Premium Member