Coop-less?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by crc310, Jul 31, 2014.

1. crc310

crc310 Songster

Feb 25, 2013
    Michigan
    I'm newish at chickens. I have been doing research for 2 yrs but adopted five 16 months ago and 2 more a few weeks ago. I live in SE MI so we get into the negatives during the winter. This past winter was harsh to say the least! -30•F! Windchill was worse:( since mid summer last year my chickens have not used the coop to sleep in. They perch on top and on the roosts outside the coop in the covered pen (predator proofed). It is only used to lay eggs and eat from. I have RIR, BSL, EE, Wyandotte, and BR hens and a giant RIR roo:) The coop is only a 4x4 dog house (converted), only suitable for 4... During the winter, I put them in the coop at night. After a month, I finally gave up and made a small pen in the garage where they stayed for a few weeks during the worst part of last winter (only had 5 this winter, just adopted 2 more). I did not have a heat source in the coop or pen outside. These are pets and not food. They are free range during the daylight hours. The pen they sleep in is 16'x8' dog run. I used branches for roosts. Pic is from when I first set it up (now it's fully coon/coyote proof). During the winter it had tarps, plastic, and plenty of hay. Just added 8" deep sand. I was planning on adding a heat light near the roosting areas this winter. They are only in the pen at night. Should I still make a larger coop to accommodate the new hens? Thoughts? [​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 31, 2014
  2. iwiw60

iwiw60 Crowing

Jan 27, 2014
    Central Oregon