1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Coop location...How about on my deck???

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by prettyheavysoul, Oct 1, 2013.

1. prettyheavysoul

prettyheavysoul New Egg

Oct 1, 2013
    I am very new to this hobby. My pullets will be here in a week and I am spending time planning, learning and getting ready for their arrival. My question is how would putting my coop on my deck work out? I plan for my chickens to live mostly in the coop and be let out to roam around my back yard an hour or so in the morning or before dusk. Have others done this? I am thinking they could be safer and possible warmer located closer to my house. However, I am still not sure which method I will use for bedding(sand or wood shavings)..Will I scoop the poop frequently or layer. Which would work best with the coop on my deck instead of in my yard. Any experience or advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

2. Whittni

Whittni Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Southern Utah
    Sure, that would work, if they have a run to run around in. Maybe you could attach a run on the ground next to the deck and have the coop on the actual deck raised up.

3. ZenHenMama

ZenHenMama Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 1, 2013