Coop Placement.

urb2165

Chirping
7 Years
Nov 7, 2012
Greeting everyone. I am a newbie to all of this so forgive me if I ask stupid questions. I am just beginning in my learning curve.
My property is all chain linled fenced in and secure. Two of my property lines have lots of tall, old pine trees growing along them. The area under these pines are covered with thick layers of old pine straw. What I am considering doing (and I really would like to hear your opinions) is buildinga portable coop and fenced in area for the chickens to forage safely in. My thoughts are the chickens would forage through the layers of pine straw.... eating, bugs, insects and field mice. Once they have ferterlized and tilled the soil under the pine straw I could move the coop etc. to another area like the first. Then I would build my raised beds, fill with organic soil mixture and plant my veggies and herbs in these. I will use my drip irrgation system to water the garden.

I am not sure about keeping a rooster, however I do want at least 4 good laying hens. Pros and Cons???
I really do want your thoughts and opinons.

Thanks
Rodney in South Carolina
75 Degrees on December 4th
Very mild winters and long growing seasons.

Why not build a permanent coop and build separate runs attached so you can put them in whichever run you want whenever you want? There is a lady at the Gardening sister forum that does this. She uses a couple of runs a year for chickens and gardens in the rest, rotating as she desires. (TheEasyGarden at the bottom of this page)

Moving a coop of any size can be a pain in the butt. Some people do it but I'd consider building a permanent one with a small permanent run. Off that permanent run, have several pop doors or even people doors or gates so you can put them anywhere you want to.