coop questions, day in the life of a chicken

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by OrangeCrushCJ7, Apr 18, 2009.

1. OrangeCrushCJ7

OrangeCrushCJ7 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 18, 2009
    Barre, MA
    I was looking at the website for the place I buy my wood pellets from, and they had a link to thier annual poultry sale. Kind of peaked my interest. Inexpensive hobby that I think my year and a half old daughter will grow to enjoy too. And you can’t beat fresh “free” eggs. So after discussing it for a few weeks, the wife and I decided to get some hens for egg purposes. I have no experience whatsoever with them. I have been reading about them on the net, and trying to learn as much as I can. We want 6 or so hens. We are considering 2 Barred Plymouth Rocks, 2 Buff Orpingtons, and 2 Golden Comets. Will these co-exist together well?
    What is the mortality rate on them, getting them as days old chicks? If I want 6, should I order more and expect casualties before maturity?